RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL REPORT TO COUNCIL

meeting date: TUESDAY 11 JULY 2023

title: CHANGES COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS FOR MUNICIPAL YEAR

2023/2024

submitted by: MARSHAL SCOTT - CHIEF EXECUTIVE

principal author: REBECCA TAIT - DEMOCRATIC SERVICES AND CIVIC OFFICER

1 PURPOSE

1.1 To determine changes to the Council's committee arrangements for the Municipal Year 2023/2024.

- 1.2 Relevance to the Council's objectives and priorities
 - Council's Objectives whilst the Council's committee arrangements do not contribute directly to the achievement of the Council's objectives, they set the framework for the Council's decision-making processes.
 - Other considerations the Council decided under the provisions of the Local Government Act 2000, after consultation with the electorate, to retain its committee arrangements rather than opt for an executive form of governance. This decision has been reconsidered and confirmed by the Policy & Finance committee.

2 BACKGROUND

2.1 The Council approved membership of its committees at its Annual meeting on 23 May 2023. It is now necessary to make a number of minor changes to that committee membership.

2 ISSUES

2.1 It is proposed that the following Councillors be **removed** from committees listed below:

Councillor Lee Jameson - Accounts and Audit Committee.

Councillor Karl Barnsley – Planning Committee.

Councillor Malcolm Peplow – Economic Development.

Councillor Gaynor Hibbert – Policy and Finance.

Councillor Jonathan Hill - Health and Housing.

2.2 It is then proposed that the following Councillors be added to the committees listed below:

Councillor Lee Jameson – Planning and Development Committee.

Councillor Karl Barnsley – Accounts and Audit Committee.

Councillor Gaye McCrum – Economic Development Committee.

Councillor Gaynor Hibbert – Health and Housing Committee.

Councillor Jonathan Hill - Policy and Finance Committee.

2.3 The proposed revised membership of Committees is attached at Appendix A.

3 RISK ASSESSMENT

- 3.1 The approval of this report may have the following implications:-
 - Resources the estimated costs of administering the committee arrangements in 2023/2024 are included in the approved budget for 2023/2024.
 - Technical, Environment and Legal none.
 - Political none.
 - Reputation none.

4 RECOMMENDED THAT THE COUNCIL

4.1 Approves the changes to the current membership of committees as set out in Appendix A.

REBECCA TAIT
ADMINISTRATION OFFICER

MARSHAL SCOTT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

BACKGROUND PAPERS

1 Agenda for Annual Meeting of Council 23 May 2023

For further information please contact Rebecca Tait at rebecca.tait@ribblevalley.gov.uk.

Appendix A

MEMBERSHIP ON COMMITTEES 2023/24 COMMUNITY SERVICES (15)

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	LABOUR	INDEPENDEN T GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDEN
					1
Jan Alcock	Stewart	Karl Barnsley	John Atherton	Malcolm	
	Fletcher			Peplow	
Stephen	Mary	Lee Jameson	Lee Street		
Atkinson	Robinson				
Stella Brunskill	Simon				
	O'Rourke				
Sophie Cowman					
Rosie Elms					
Ricky Newmark					
Gary Scott					

PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT (15)

LAMINING AND D	LAMINO AND DEVELOT MENT (13)						
CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT	GREEN	INDEPENDENT		
	DEMOCRAT		GROUP				
Tony Austin	Mark French	Lee Jameson	Jim Rogerson		lan Brown		
Sue Bibby	Simon	Kieren					
	O'Rourke	Spencer					
Derek	Stewart	Nick Stubbs					
Brocklehurst	Fletcher						
Stella Brunskill							
Louise Edge							
Simon Hore							
Kevin Horkin							

HEALTH AND HOUSING (15)

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
Jan Alcock	Donna O'Rourke	Rachael Ray	John Atherton		lan Brown
Stephen Atkinson	Mary Robinson	Aaron Wilkins- Odudu			
Tony Austin	Gaynor Hibbert	Nick Stubbs			
Rosie Elms					
Steve Farmer					
Stuart Hirst					
Charles McFall					

PERSONNEL (9)

V-7					
CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
	DEMOCRAT		GROUP		
Sue Bibby	Donna	Karl Barnsley	David		
	O'Rourke		Birtwhistle		
Rosie Elms	Ryan Corney	Lee Jameson			
Steve Farmer					
Simon Hore					

LICENSING (15)

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
Derek Brocklehurst	Simon O'Rourke	Kieren Spencer	Jim Rogerson	Malcolm Peplow	Ian Brown
Stella Brunskill	Donna O'Rourke	Michael Graveston	Lee Street		
Steve Farmer	Gaynor Hibbert				
Ricky Newmark					
Gary Scott					
Robin Walsh					

POLICY AND FINANCE (15)

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
Stephen Atkinson	Mark French	Aaron Wilkins- Odudu	David Birtwhistle	Gaye McCrum	
Sue Bibby	Stewart Fletcher	Lee Jameson	Jim Rogerson		
Louise Edge	Jonathan Hill				
Stuart Hirst					
Simon Hore					
Kevin Horkin					
Ricky Newmark					

ACCOUNTS AND AUDIT (11)

7100001110711107110011 (11)						
CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT	GREEN	INDEPENDENT	
	DEMOCRAT		GROUP			
Tony Austin	Stewart	Karl Barnsley	Lee Street	Gaye		
	Fletcher			McCrum		
Stuart Hirst	Jonathan Hill	Michael				
		Graveston				
Charles McFall						
Ricky Newmark						
Robin Walsh						

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT (15)

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
	DEMOCRAT		GROUP		
Jan Alcock	Stewart	Rachael Ray	David	Gaye	
	Fletcher		Birtwhistle	McCrum	
Stephen	Jonathan Hill	Michael			
Atkinson		Graveston			
Sophie	Ryan Corney	Aaron			
Cowman		Wilkins-			
		Odudu			
Louise Edge					
Rosie Elms					
Stuart Hirst					
Robin Walsh					

PARISH COUNCIL LIAISON (13)

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
Derek	Mary	Karl Barnsley	David	Malcolm	
Brocklehurst	Robinson		Birtwhistle	Peplow	
Sophie	Simon	Nick Stubbs			
Cowman	O'Rourke				
Kevin Horkin	Gaynor				
	Hibbert				
Charles McFall					
Gary Scott					
Robin Walsh					

EMERGENCY (4)

	V I						
CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL	LABOUR	INDEPENDENT	GREEN	INDEPENDENT		
	DEMOCRAT		GROUP				
Stephen	Stewart	Lee Jameson					
Atkinson	Fletcher						
Simon Hore							