RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL REPORT TO POLICY AND FINANCE COMMITTEE

meeting date:TUESDAY 23 JANUARY 2024title:MEMBERSHIP OF WORKING GROUPSsubmitted by:MARSHAL SCOTT - CHIEF EXECUTIVEprincipal author:REBECCA HODGSON – DEMOCRATIC SERVICES AND CIVIC OFFICER

1 PURPOSE

- 1.1 For Committee to consider the membership of the Working Groups under the remit of this Committee for the remainder of the municipal year 2023/2024.
- 1.2 Relevance to the Council's objectives and priorities -
 - Community Objectives to be a well-managed council providing effective services.
 - Corporate Priorities to protect and enhance the existing environmental quality of our area; to help make people's lives healthier and safer.
 - Other Considerations to work in partnership with other bodies in pursuit of the Council's aims and objectives.

2 BACKGROUND

- 2.1 Committee approved the appointment of Members to the Working Groups under the remit of this Committee for 2023/24 on 20 June 2023.
- 2.2 Based on the then political balance the allocations and membership were agreed as follows:
 - Voluntary Organisation Grants consisted of two Conservatives, one Liberal Democrat, one Labour, and one Independent Group Councillor.

Councillors R Newmark, L Edge, S Fletcher, A Wilkins-Odudu, D Birtwhistle.

• **Budget Working Group** - consisted of three Conservatives, one Liberal Democrat, one Labour, one Independent Group Councillor, and one Green Councillor.

Councillors S Atkinson, S Hore, S Hirst, S Fletcher, L Jameson, J Rogerson, G McCrum.

• UK Shared Prosperity Fund (UKSPF) – consisted of two Conservatives, one Liberal Democrat, one Labour and one Independent Councillor.

Councillors S Atkinson, S Hore, S Fletcher, L Jameson, J Rogerson.

• **Corporate Strategy** – consisted of three Conservatives, one Liberal Democrat, one Labour, one Independent Group Councillor, and one Green Councillor.

Councillors S Atkinson, S Hore, K Horkin, S Fletcher, A Wilkins-Odudu, D Birtwhistle, G McCrum

- 3 ISSUES
- 3.1 Following political group changes, the revised membership of the Policy and Finance Committee based on the new political balance was confirmed at the meeting of the Full Council 12 December 2023 as follows:

CONSERVATIVE	LIBERAL DEMOCRAT	LABOUR	PROGRESSIVE LIBERAL GROUP	INDEPENDENT GROUP	GREEN	INDEPENDENT
(7)	(2)	(3)	(1)	(2)	(0)	(0)
Stephen	Simon	Aaron	Stewart Fletcher	David		
Atkinson (C)	O'Rourke	Wilkins-		Birtwhistle		
		Odudu				
Sue Bibby	Jonathan Hill	Lee		Jim Rogerson		
		Jameson				
Louise Edge		Michael				
		Graveston				
Stuart Hirst						
Simon Hore (VC)						
Kevin Horkin						
Ricky Newmark						

- 3.2 Councillors M French and G McCrum are no longer Members of this Committee, and Councillors S O'Rourke and M Graveston have been added as Members of this Committee.
- 3.3 The Budget and Corporate Strategy Working Groups require replacement Members for Cllr G McCrum.
- 3.4 There is no longer a Liberal Democrat representative on any of the Working Groups
- 3.5 Committee are therefore asked to consider the allocations and confirm the membership of the Working groups under the remit of this Committee for remainder of the 2023/24 municipal year.

4 RISK ASSESSMENT

- 4.1 The approval of this report may have the following implications: -
 - Resources the costs associated with working groups are included in the budget for 2023/24.
 - Technical, Environment and Legal none.
 - Political none.
 - Reputation none.

5 RECOMMENDED THAT COMMITTEE:

5.1 Consider and agree the membership of the Working Groups under the remit of this Committee for the remainder of the municipal year 2023/24.

REBECCA HODGSON ADMINISTRATION OFFICER

MARSHAL SCOTT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

BACKGROUND PAPERS

- 1 Agenda and Minutes of Policy and Finance Committee 20 June 2023
- 2 Agenda and Minutes of Full Council 12 December 2023

For further information please contact Rebecca Hodgson at rebecca.hodgson@ribblevalley.gov.uk.